Comics Picks For 19.11.2014

No “Magic 40” this week since I wasn’t able to get around to a lot of the comics I wanted to get through this week, largely because I am traveling and in India for a cousin’s marriage. These things always take up a lot of time. I haven’t even had a chance to work on my NaNo novel these past two days!

Anyway, My top picks for the surprise hits of the week would be Batman ’66: The Lost Episode #1 and He-Man and the Masters of the Universe Volume 2 from DC Comics. The most disappointing comics of this week were  Amazing Spider-Man #10 and Spider-Woman #1 from Marvel Comics. Other than that, the regularly great titles like Black Widow, Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 10 , Future’s End, Predator: Fire and Stone and Witchblade all proved to be immensely fun.

The graphic novels for this week were Aphrodite IX v2 Volume 2 by Matt Hawkins, Stjepan Sejic and Troy Peteri, and He-Man and the Masters of the Universe Volume 2 by Dan Abnett, Rafael Kayanan, Kathryn Layno, Deron Bennett, Yildiray Cinar, Randy Mayor, Michael S. O’Hare, Frazer Irving, Pop Mhan, Tom Derenick, Tony Avina, Ken Lashley and Ryan Sook.

Anyway, here’s another edition of “Comics Picks For…”. Full reading list, as always, is available here and all my comics reviews are available here.

Continue reading “Comics Picks For 19.11.2014”

The Flash Season 1 Ep 7 (TV Show Review)

Next week we are going to see what the last six episodes of The Flash and the current season of Arrow have all been building towards, an epic crossover between CW’s two greatest shows to date, bringing together two of the most prominent superheroes of recent years, Barry Allen aka The Flash and Oliver Queen aka Arrow. But before that, we have seen a lot of things happen on The Flash as the mysteries surrounding Harrison Wells deepen and Barry starts to learn all of the cool little things he can do with his speed powers.

Before we get to the crossover next week, we have this week’s episode which brings together two different supervillains for Barry to take down. But it is not going to be easy since he loses his powers against one of them early on, and the rest of the episode is all about him coming to know who he is and what he wants to be and what he believes. It was quite an excellent episode and a good primer for the crossover too. The best that can be said about this episode is that all bets are off regarding Harrison Wells, and I find that a great approach.

Continue reading “The Flash Season 1 Ep 7 (TV Show Review)”

Fast-Shot Comics Reviews 19.11.2014

Last week I started off a new feature on the blog, Fast-Shot Comics Reviews, in which I will be reviewing some of my comics read from that week that I wasn’t able to get to in terms of reviews. And these can be comics I liked or comics I hated or anywhere in between really. Last week I did six comics, all of them among my top picks for the week, and it was a pretty fun experience, trying to reduce my usual 700+ words reviews into something like half that number. Quite challenging too since I usually write so much more.

The picks for this week are: Grimm Fairy Tales #104, Grimm Fairy Tales 2014 Holiday EditionDeath of Wolverine: The Weapon X Program #2, Inhuman #8, Storm #5, and Wonder Woman #36. The picks are a bit heavy on the Big Two this week, owing to how much I read from them, and also since most of my reading was confined to them only this week. An interesting bunch certainly and there are quite a few really good books in here, though not all are what I’d call “Pick of the Week” material, even though they skirt the line.

Continue reading “Fast-Shot Comics Reviews 19.11.2014”